My Beloved Farm Table – Take Three?

If you read my blog, you know by now how much I love my farm table, but unfortunately, it was just too big to use in the dining room in my sweet little cottage. Not wanting to get rid of it because of its great bones and durable style, I first reinvented it to use in our Tiny Lakeside home as an island and a dining space. However, it simply took up too much room in that tiny abode as well.

So what did I do?  I started looking around my little cottage in the city to see if  space allowed for this little gem to again reside in my cottage.  First, I thought to place it in my laundry room; there was room for it and I could use it for folding laundry and other duties. But squirreling this cutie away in a room where it really was under utilized just didn’t feel right… I really wanted to be able to see and use this beloved piece every day.  So I started rearranging…..and then rearranged again and again until I came up with the perfect idea and place for this gem to call home.  So what did I do?

First, I started with coaxing Mr. Mobile Cottage into another renovation of this beloved piece.  He first cut the table legs down and reattached them to the appropriate height.  Next, he added pieces of our signature gingerbread trim around the entire body of the table since this was now going to be seen on all sides and once adhered, a fresh coat of white paint was added to the entire piece.  So what are we using this piece for now and what does it look like?  See for yourself below.

Newly reinvented "farm table" to coffee table!

Newly reinvented “farm table” to coffee table!

 

Front view - too cute!

Front view – too cute!

Another view - Love the stubby legs and of course, cute trim

Another view – Love the stubby legs and of course, cute trim

When you love a piece of furniture whether it be a family heirloom, a scavenged treasure or in my case a cherished piece that was given to me by friends, and it just doesn’t work in the space intended or you are just not sure what to do with it, sometimes it just takes reinventing (or in my case 2 reinventions) to make it the perfect piece for your home.  What I have learned over the years is that sometimes you just need to look beyond what a piece was intended for and  instead reinvent it for what you really want to use it for; such is the case for my  NOW beloved “coffee table”.  And what could be better than that?

 

 

One thought on “My Beloved Farm Table – Take Three?

Leave a Reply

